Turning The humble Can Of Chopped Tomatoes Into An Italian Mama’s Masterpiece!

 

I have been out promoting and spreading the work to all who will listen. I still managed to squeeze in some time to make an on plan dinner.

 

A lady I met in my group where I lost my own weight mentioned she thinks the can of chopped tomatoe can be boring!  You know what in the beginning, I would have been nodding my head in agreement. After much playing in the kitchen I think I have mastered a fabulous tomatoe based sauce.

chopped tomatoes

Tonight, I decided to make Slimming World Style Egg Plant Parmesan (Speed-tastic)

Ingredients & Method:-

Finely dice a onion and garlic and gently fry in fry light.

After about five minutes, add some chilli finely chopped. By now everything should be browning nicely. Add about three of four chestnut mushrooms again finely chopped.

Turn heat to medium and let the mushrooms sweat.

Add a little salt & black pepper, and half a jelly veggie stock cube.

I usually coat the mushroom & onion etc. in the stock cube, (no water)  I then add a can of chopped tomatoes. Turn the heat back up, let it come up to almost simmering.

Now the secret to lifting the sauce, add 1 heaped Tbps of Basil (I buy chopped basil from the freezer section in Aldi) 🙂

1/2 tsp of dried oregano

1 level tsp of stevia or sweetener.

Turn the heat down and make sure all your tomatoes are indeed chopped. Leave your sauce on low heat.

Now, its time to get cracking on the Eggplant/ Aubergine

Slice it up and place it under the grill, lightly sprayed with fry light and a little salt & pepper.

Grill on both sides. 🙂

Spray an oven proof dish  with fry light and lay the first round of the eggplant, cover with your tomatoe sauce, sprinkle 20g of Parmesan over this layer, add the rest of your eggplant rounds and finish to the top with the rest of the sauce and the final 20g of Parmesan cheese.  (30g is your healthy Extra A Choice ) This dish serves two or three people.

Leave in oven on high for 40/50 mins…

Enjoy 🙂 I served mine with oven baked Salmon 🙂

Slimming World Egg Plan Parm

Please like my Facebook page:-  https://www.facebook.com/SlimmingWorldGalwayCityCentre

Leave a comment